Dear Phil: A letter to a colleague about Design Thinking and L&D

Mark Sheppard is the Training Coordinator for Northern Lights Canada in Oshawa, ON. Learn more about Mark at http://about.me/marksheppard

The Hitch Hiker's Guide to Learning

Dear Phil:

Always great to hear from you, and I’m sharing some of my thoughts and findings from the Design Thinking MOOC I tackled a little while back. I’m glad you asked me to do this, and I hope you don’t object to the approach, but I figure this “letter” will let me get into a little more detail and spark a some Q&A.

So, here goes.

As you know, particularly in our time on that joint ID project in 2011, I’m a big fan of rapid, and flexible, processes. Yeah, I know that I was a little platform focused at the time, but I really wanted to get away from that slow, deliberate, linear design process that just doesn’t play nicely with the complexities of online asset development.  The rapid prototyping model I espoused was, on reflection, good for sparking some thoughts about different ways to do things, and…

View original post 1,114 more words

Leave a Reply

